A Power Hour in South Africa

IMG_1990.JPG

This post is LONG overdue, since it happened a couple of months ago, but that won’t make it any less special. After being in South Africa for a couple of weeks and making BFFs with Tfaith’s Cape Town posse, we both realized that none of them had ever played Power Hour before. As blasphemous as that was, we decided that we had to pick a special night to de-virginize them to the drinking game.

IMG_1992.JPG

We picked the night of a BBQ. We were celebrating Zezia’s birthday that night and Tfaith figured it would be the perfect night to show Cape Town how to do Power Hour.

It. Was. So. Epic.

IMG_2026.JPG

IMG_1981.JPG
The first mistake we made was thinking we were all still 20 years old. So we went out for drinks before the party.

IMG_2029.JPG
IMG_2053.JPG
That night, before anything, consisted of a lot of good food. Seriously, I still remember this food. It was so delicious that we overstuffed ourselves, which is not a smart thing to do before power hour.

IMG_2017.JPG
IMG_1991.JPG
The birthday girl was excited.

IMG_2019.JPG
Tfaith was ready.

IMG_2020.JPG
Begin!

IMG_2002.JPG
IMG_2003.JPG
Things unraveled pretty quickly though.
FYI…Do not substitute wine for beer in power hour unless you want to time travel.

IMG_2043.JPG
As one of us learned very quickly.

IMG_2015.JPG
But we powered on.
I remember getting to 60 shots and thinking “I can totally keep going” back in the day.
Actually Katherine, Aaron and I easily made it to 100.
It was way different this time.
We no longer had those college livers.

IMG_2033.JPG
Sang some songs. I totally forgot what we were singing here, but I am almost positive it was Total Eclipse of the Heart.

The following pictures are what Tfaith and I do when drunk.
Dance to The Neverending Story Theme song.
No Joke:

IMG_2045.JPG
IMG_2046.JPG
IMG_2047.JPG

IMG_2034.JPG
Cornel decided she needed in on some dancing action.

IMG_2056.JPG
Not everyone was able to dance though.
(Btw, with the dance pics and how he has his shirt, I am surprised Tfaith is engaged).

IMG_1997.JPG
Then I remember taking a cab home.
And waking up thinking
“Holy Crap…I just played power hour…in AFRICA”

I miss traveling.

2 comments
  1. TFaith said:

    I love it! I’m going to do a little dance in my lab right now!

  2. jingwen said:

    omg – I can’t believe that you did the power hour in africa. Fucking awesome.

Leave a Reply

