One Of Those Crazy Exercise Stories

“Are you sure you are OK” I asked. He turned to me, with blood coming down his cheek and chin, and softly said “Someone needs to go pick up my kids at school.”

I was glad that I was able to go run again. Running is my only form of exercise, since I really can’t afford a gym at the moment. Its been raining non-stop for the last couple of days so I have been unable to go and enjoy a nice run. Luckily, today we had great weather. I was literally only about a half a mile away from my apartment, running uphill up a windy road, when I heard the screeching.

I look up to see a car lose control and hit the side of the hill and begin to flip over about 100 feet in front of me. I want to thank whoever or whatever you believe in that the car only flipped over once, because I froze in fear. I don’t even want to think about what would have happened if the car was going faster or if it had lost control just a few seconds later. I told the cops it was a slow flip, but that could have been because I saw it in slow motion. Who knows. It landed on its side, with the passenger door up. The first couple of seconds, I literally just stood there asking myself if it was real. I was the first one to arrive at the car, which wasn’t hard considering it was right in front of me. By the time I looked inside through the front window, to see how many people were inside, other cars began to pull over.

Alvaro, the driver, was the only passenger. Two of us helped him out, while the third called the police. He asked me if he could borrow my phone, but since I was running, all I had were my keys and iPod. He had cuts on his cheek and chin, but he didn’t seem to notice them. He wanted to call his wife, so someone could go pick up the kids at school. We told him to sit down, but he could have done a gymnastics routine due to the obvious adrenaline rush.

Six cop cars, one fire truck and one ambulance were at the scene in less than two minutes. After being taken down as a witness, one of the cops offered me a ride home, I gladly accepted since my legs were like jelly and because I got to ride in a cool ass cop car. I felt bad, because the only information I gave was that I saw him flip over and I helped him out. The other witnesses were coming up with elaborate and intricate stories, involving other cars, a bazooka and unicorns magically appearing (which is proof that people love to exaggerate).

SO that was my crazy run.
It is proof, that nothing good comes out of being fit and healthy.

Kidding. Maybe.

4 comments
  1. Omid said:

    wow…you like running?

  2. Evelia said:

    ay gabriel, that’s so scary! i’m glad everyone was okay

  3. gDanny said:

    Never a dull moment.

Leave a Reply

