My Favorite Film of 2009

It was definitely a year of great films. I actually didn’t see many movies in the theaters, but the ones I did see were definitely entertaining. If I HAD to pick the top ten movies that I would rewatch again it would definitely be the following:

The Hurt Locker, Star Trek, Ponyo, 500 Days of Summer, Avatar, District 9, The Hangover, Take and Sin Nombre.

Honestly, Avatar nearly topped my list because when I think about it, it transported me back to those days when I would see a movie and it would literally make me say “Holy Shit”. But, in the end, my favorite movie of 2009 is:

Brilliant is a great way to describe Up. Its hard to remember the last movie that touched me in so many ways. A movie with the best depiction of a dog ever captured on screen and one that almost had me sobbing is fantastic in my book. It also has one of the best quotes of all time:

“Hey, I know a joke! A squirrel walks up to a tree and says, “I forgot to store acorns for the winter and now I am dead.” Ha! It is funny because the squirrel gets dead.”

I’m kidding. That is not actually my favorite quote from the movie, but it is definitely a fantastic joke. The actual quote I am talking about is:

“I know it sounds boring, but it’s the boring things I remember the most.”

Such an impact, because it reminded me that even if your life is full of small and ordinary moments, that in no way means it is any less fulfilling.

Effing amazing good job Pixar.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

