Nessun Dorma

It was in my second year of advanced Italian at the University of Washington. We were assigned into groups of three to write and perform our own skits, which had to be close to ten minutes long. In a language class, ten minutes is FOREVER. I was paired up with Ara, a close friend of mine, and another girl named Jovanna. We were a pretty funny group, two Koreans and a Mexican doing a skit in Italian. Jovanna’s parents owned a bubble tea cafe on University, so we almost met there to practice and study, plus we always got free bubble tea.

Our skit consisted of us practicing for a musical, or something of that matter, and that I was a very judgmental director. Jovanna had explained that she had some singing ability so she would perform a small song. At the end of the song, I was supposed to yell that her skill was crap and throw some sort of tantrum (we weren’t exactly screenwriters). During our practices, she would always say “this is where I sing” and we would just skip over to the next scene. She never actually rehearsed herself singing.

Well, it got to the day of the skit and we were doing a really good job. When her part was coming up, she prepared her music on her laptop and got ready. We really thought we was going to sing a little snippet of some well known Italian song. Well, she did sing a well known song, but we did NOT expect what happened next. She sang the following:

She even hit that high note at 3 minutes.
The whole class had their jaws on the floor.
Our Italian teacher was in tears.
Ara and I froze not knowing what to do next. I took me what seemed like an eternity to finally compose myself and actually tell her that she sucked. It worked well with the skit, since it made it really funny, but that wasn’t really our intention.

I am pretty sure at the end of the skit, both Ara and I turned to Jovanna and at the same time just yelled “HOLY SHIT!”

I was telling Mar this story the other day and decided that I wanted to share it. It was one of my favorite moments in any class ever, plus we got an A.

1 comment
  1. Mom said:

    L……M……A…..O!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

