Bay To Breakers 2010 : Birthday Celebration

I didn’t really do too much on my actual birthday knowing that I was going to consider Bay to Breakers my actual birthday celebration. Like I said before, there really are no words to explain Bay to Breakers to people who have never been to it. Niamh tried to before we all went, but I had NO IDEA what I was in for. I agree that the only city they could possibly pull this off is San Francisco. The runner’s of the race start first, but after they are done that is when the real crazy show begins. Halloween has nothing on this event. I am pretty sure I called Brian at 9 in the morning yelling at how wasted I was already walking down the streets.

That lady is either really old or corpses are now allowed to participate in the race – Kiernan

It seems like the whole city participates. It really is only around 60,000 people (more than three times the people of my hometown), but it feels like so many more. Looking down the street I just could’t believe the miles and miles of costumed craziness.

Every time I asked someone how I could explain it to friends, everyone told me that I couldn’t, there are no words. The best one I heard was that I should tell my friends its like a 60,000 person themed costumed frat party. The SF GATE has a good story written on this years event.

Only in San Francisco could I sing “Living on a Prayer” next to a giant vagina. – Niamh

Anyway, I will just let you guys look at pictures. It is a long post so check out more pictures after the jump. Also, wanting to keep this Blog rated PG-13 for you minor readers, I have edited the pictures that have naughty bits in them. Enjoy

3 comments
  1. nettsu said:

    there does just seem to be something about San Francisco and public nudity. I asked Larry about it once (he lived in SF for 10 years and he couldn’t explain it to me) – it’s part of the wonder and the joy that is SF apparently – you just have to let go & embrace it…

    crazy!
    fantastic pictures as always gabriel 😉

  2. Mr last said:

    very gooooooooooooooooooooood 😀 :-p

  3. d to the i. n. g. said:

    my only comment is this…why is niamh wearing a hello kitty, tokyo style minature backpack?

Leave a Reply

