South American Taxi Adventures

  • When we are in a cab and they hear us speak English, they automatically think they can screw us. I can’t tell you how many times we have gone to one place only to find out that when we come back its 10 pesos cheaper. This lets us know that the cab driver who drove us there earlier took the nice LONG way there. Wretched.
  • Although I love it when I catch them. They start to go one way and I ask “Where are you going? Shouldn’t you just take Avenida De Mayo?” Then the cab driver finds out we fully understand Spanish and now he knows that I know he was trying to screw us. Its extremely uncomfortable for him and its a moment I treasure. (This never happened in a cab in Peru since I would just close my eyes and hope that I would survive).
  • Music in cabs is always an adventure. When I am in a new city or town, and riding in a cab, they usually have some local music on. It’s awesome driving around in a new country listening to something that the locals themselves enjoy. What’s not awesome is when they find out you are a foreigner and completely change the music thinking you want to hear it. We spent an good two hours one day in Peru listening to Bob Marley. I never want to hear No Woman No Cry ever again.
  • We rode in a hired cab one day. The car was full and after about three hours we found out there was a teenage girl in the back of the car sitting in a tiny corner next to the luggage. We found out she was the cab drivers daughter and she was forced to sit back there for that long since he wanted his “shuttle” to get full with as many fares as he could get.
  • I think ever cab driver in South America has tried to kill us (or scare us to death) for funsies.
  • In a shuttle to Manuel Antonio in Costa Rica, our new friend Beth (a future medical student at Columbia) was so hungover and car sick from the death defying hairpin cliff turns in Costa Rica that she began to vomit in the shuttle into a trash can. Now, I don’t know about you, but when I hear and see someone vomiting, that also elicits a bad response from me. I was not the only one. When we pulled over almost everyone in the shuttle said that they couldn’t see her vomit or they themselves would vomit. She was forced to sit up front after that. Bad times.
  • Getting in a cab in Lima, Peru is SERIOUSLY a bad decision on your personal safety. I can’t stress this enough. I would gladly go into a Tuk Tuk with a drunk driver in Bangkok then ever take a cab in Lima again.
  • I love that Argentina has metered taxis, which doesn’t require 3 hours of me trying to haggle a fair price to go anywhere.

Anywho, I know this is random post, but It is our last day in Argentina and it is raining and freezing outside so I am bored to death. Cynthia is underneath the blankets in our room refusing to move.

Even if it does rain, I hope Rio is warmer.

2 comments
  1. Christine said:

    my favorite part about this post was when you said “funsies”

  2. Ana Jonesies said:

    I was lucky that everywhere in Trujillo, Peru should cost no more than 3 soles, so they were pretty honest. Although the little shuttle buses with maybe upwards of 20 people sitting and standing over each other with babies and groceries and maybe some chickens was quite the experience, but for 0.25 soles! Come on! How can you say no?!

    I also remember the techno buses with strobe lights, bob marley, and the beatles on Andean flute….great in that it’s so wrong.

    They told us not to break large bills in taxi’s, but I really wanted change. After a long cab ride where I was asleep and my other two girlfriends were bonding with our cab driver Sergio talking Foo Fighters and Michael Jackson I asked if he had change for a hundred after which he took my hundred then changed his mind and said he didn’t have change giving me back a fake hundie. I knew it was fake, but the strong ties that Sergio, Leticia, and Maria had formed had me feeling bad for accusing him upfrontly of switching bills and I spent the rest of my trip trying to pawn it off on another Argentinian….Damn you Sergio.

    You could write an entire book on cab experiences in SA.

Leave a Reply

