Only When You Backpack


Sorry I haven’t updated. But I am in effing Rio De Janeiro. Updating the blog is the last thing on my mind and the only reason I am doing it now is because I am so incredibly hungover and tired that the only thing I can move is my fingers across my keyboard.

And I have to change hostels in a couple of minutes.
UGH.

Last night we were in Lapa, where a huge street party is held. Im serious, one that can rival any big night in New Orleans during Mardi Gras. It happens here every Friday just for funsies.

Samba in the clubs. Capoeira in the streets. Extreme alcoholic drinks that cost 2 dollars. = Insanely good fun.

Me: So where did you go to school?
Her: Oh, University of Washington.
Me: ME TOO!!!
Her: FELLOW HUSKY! What year you graduate?
Me: 2006
Her: ME TOO!!!!!!
Me: Did you live in the dorms?
Her: Yeah, Lander and McCarty.
Me: ME TOO!!!!!!!
Her: AHHHHH!!!!!!
Me: AAHHHHH!!!!!!!

Back home soon. Crazy. Almost as crazy as the 40+ hour commute to get there.

1 comment
  1. Evan Kory said:

    Nice pic of Rio! Something funny, went kind of like this:

    Me: Gabe is in Brazil
    Pokie: cool, traveling?
    Me: Yeah he’s with his sister
    Pokie: Oh where that huge statue is huh…
    Me: Yeah, that’s a BIG Jesus…
    Pokie: What? Oh I thought it was just a HUGE statue of a person saying “WELCOME TO BRAZIL” cause his arms are open…
    Me: HAHAHAHA WEEEEEELCOME TO BRAZIL

Leave a Reply

